The Backup Dialog
ScanDBX's powerful backup system allows you to back up your entire Outlook Express installation (or any part of it) and restore it whenever necessary. ScanDBX will keep track of the backups you've performed and the date that they occurred, so you can restore your entire installation to a single point in time.
NOTE: Like any other backup system, the ScanDBX Backup System works by taking a "snapshot" of your computer. When you restore the data, it will overwrite any changes you have made since the backup! Thus, if you backup your Outlook Express installation, receive new emails, and then restore the backup, those new emails will be lost forever.
- Backup All Files - this will backup all of your mail store files rather than just the ones which will be changed. This is recommended and is chosen by default. Don't change this unless your hard drive space is severely constrained.
- Compress Backups – ScanDBX compresses your email files in the backups to save hard drive space. It is recommended that you use the default value (checked) to prevent the backups from using all of your hard drive space.
- Number of Backups to Keep - The number of backups to keep on your hard drive if you run ScanDBX more than once. This is set to five by default. It is recommended that you not use a setting below this unless your hard drive space is severely constrained.
- Backup All - Allows you to perform a full backup of your entire Outlook Express installation by clicking the "Backup All" button. This may take a few minutes if you have large email files. It will also require sufficient disk space to store a copy of your data.
- Backup Directories - A grid containing information about the backup directories from previous times running ScanDBX.
- Information in the grid:
- Directory Name
- Size (in bytes)
- The Date that ScanDBX was run to create that backup.
- The full path
- Right clicking on a line of the grid brings up a menu containing 2 options.
- Copy Backup Directory, which copies the full path of the selected backup directory to the clipboard.Restore Backup, which restores the selected backup and erases the current mail store files.
- Restore Backup - If you click this button, the backup selected in the backup directories list will be restored. This will also erase the current mail store files.
- Restore Backup – If you click this button, the backup selected in the backup directories list will be restored. This will also erase the current mail store files.
- Delete Backup – If you click this button, the backup selected in the backup directories list will be completely deleted. You will not be able to restore this backup in the future.
- Compress Backup – If you click this button while a non-compressed backup is selected, that backup will be compressed to save hard drive space. This button is only available if you have backups on your system which are not compressed.